When a Street Photographer Shoots Landscape (At a Boring Place…)

Do you struggle to take good landscape photos when the scenery is just mediocre? I faced the same challenge in my recent solo hike, and I would like to share with you my approach to still come home with some good photos.

Keith Chen
5 min readAug 29, 2021
Image by Author.

When I look at my portfolio, probably 90% of them have at least one person in them. This makes sense because the essence of street photography is capturing the irreplicable moments of people. While many new photographers find it daunting to shoot photos of strangers up close, this is actually my most comfortable shooting style. However, this poses a different challenge for me — when there is no interesting or engaging subject, how or what do I shoot?

In this story, I wanted to share with you my experience behind this series of photos of the woods, which I took during a solo hiking trip. The scenery was just mediocre, so as someone who does not have much experience in landscape photography, I struggled a bit at the beginning to come up with good photos. I did end up with a few that I think are acceptable by following some photography basics, which I am about to share with you. You can use this as a guide to look for good nature or landscape photo…

--

--

Keith Chen

Product manager @ Google.com, ex-Amazon; Adjunct professor @ MICA.edu and Chatham.edu; MBA from CMU.edu; Professional photographer. Language : 中文 / EN